Have you got the CIM factor?

A couple months ago my son represented his school in the regional finals of the Jack Petchey ‘Speak Out Challenge’. * He didn’t win but he commented that it has really given him invaluable experience that will stand him in good stead for his career choice of becoming a Lawyer.

That aside, he came home last month and announced that he was going to apply for the position of Head boy as he was sure ‘he could bag it’. I said “go for it son, the sky is the limit!”

So we had weeks of listening to him present to us on why he should be selected for the role. His sister took him through several likely interview questions, having herself served as Senior Prefect on the Head Girl team at her school last year.

He was relentless in his preparation for the various hoops that he had to jump. And I had to listen attentively every time he wanted to ‘practice his pitch’.

So, early last week he had the first interview and was told at the end of the week that he had been shortlisted. Joy erupted! The second interview followed on Friday. The results came in today and he has got the post of Deputy Head boy. I must say we are extremely proud of him.

So when he said ‘Mom, I couldn’t have done it without you.’ I said, don’t be silly, you did it all yourself. You wrote and prepared your own presentation. You attended your interviews yourself; all I did was listened when you needed me to.

I was really chuffed when he turned to me and said. No Mom, you gave me the CIM factor. I asked ‘the what?’ He replied, “yes, you:

  • Challenged me in the years leading up to this day to strive to be the best I can be;
  • Inspired me in the years leading up to this day with your positivity and can do attitude

    And you have always been the only person that can
  • Motivate me when I am feeling ‘what’s the point?'”

Needless to say I was humbled, because as mothers we sometimes find ourselves nagging and nagging our children and young adults to do this and don’t do that. But now I know that children ultimately see it in a different way.

I quite like the phrase CIM Factor, and shall be adding it to my business vocabulary…

So, have you got the CIM factor? Do you Challenge, Inspire and Motivate yourself and your staff or associates to get the best out of your business?

Perhaps you feel you don’t have the time and energy to do any of these things. Maybe it is time you contacted Cay Moore Associates to see how we can free you up to do the things that you need to do to grow your business!

Let us give you the CIM factor. O7957459136 OR caymoore@hotmail.co.uk.

 

Cay Moore (copyright 2010)

*Image from www.speakoutchallenge.com


 

About Cay

Dynamic, innovative, creative, multi-skilled, trustworthy, reliable, knowledgeable - these are just some of the words that you could use to describe me. I am Cay Moore, Owner of Cay Moore Associates. I am a Christian and take an active role in community issues. I am married and have three gorgeous children who together with my husband, challenge, inspire and motivate me every day! I enjoy working and sharing my experiences with people. Leveraging my many years of experience gained from working in various capacities in England and abroad, I work with businesses and individuals to bring order to chaos and solutions to dilemmas. Contact me to see how Cay Moore Associates and/or Cay Moore Events Management could be of help to you. With best wishes for your business and personal success. Cay Owner, Cay Moore Associates www.caymoore.wordpress.com email: caymoore@hotmail.co.uk twitter: @Cay_Moore skype: cay.mooreassociates
This entry was posted in Editorial and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Have you got the CIM factor?

  1. Pingback: Are you an inspirational person? « Cay_Moore

Leave a Reply

