The Clegg Effect – coming to a business near you?

Call me a sceptic, but from the moment I saw Cam and Clegg in that garden on the evening of the election results last year, I knew something was very odd.  Well, apart from the fact that they look as if they were somehow related by blood!

You see two things came to my mind at the time:

  1. Cameron is too much of a strong personality to really want a coalition government, and the converse could be said of Clegg – too “soft” to handle Cam.
  2. This coalition is an unholy alliance that would end in tears.  You know, the kind of relationship that you try to warn your best friend about, because you have a gut feeling that it won’t work?

One year on, and it seems that my instincts were right.  Cam and Clegg aka Tory and Lib Dem do not present a perfect fit.  I don’t care what the theory says, but in practice there is a complete imbalance in the allocation of power, tipped totally in favour of Cameron and the Tories.

So what is in it for Clegg?  How can and will his ambitions be fulfilled through this coalition?  The recent results at the May Polls, especially in respect of his brain child the AV referendum showed that he failed miserably in his quest to exert his influence.  Was that a reflection on him personally, or on the Lib Dem’s party’s policies and politics?

I am sure by now you are thinking “why is she going on about this, what has it got to do with me?”  Well, from my point of view, if you are an entrepreneur/business person you need to take heed.

The current economic climate augers for joint ventures, collaborations and all other kinds of working relationships.  However, if you are considering entering into any such arrangements, you would be well advised to heed the following points:

  • Does your personality, ethos match that of the business or individual that you wish to collaborate with?  Are you a perfect fit?
  • What do you want to gain from this relationship?
  • How will you go about ensuring that the venture looks and feels more like a win/win situation?
  • How far will you have to compromise and are you willing to do so, even to the detriment of your business and professional standing?
  • Make sure that any such arrangement is put in writing!

What are some of the pre-requisites for a good joint venture relationship?  Have you had any nightmare stories?  Let’s share them here!

About Cay

Dynamic, innovative, creative, multi-skilled, trustworthy, reliable, knowledgeable - these are just some of the words that you could use to describe me. I am Cay Moore, Owner of Cay Moore Associates. I am a Christian and take an active role in community issues. I am married and have three gorgeous children who together with my husband, challenge, inspire and motivate me every day! I enjoy working and sharing my experiences with people. Leveraging my many years of experience gained from working in various capacities in England and abroad, I work with businesses and individuals to bring order to chaos and solutions to dilemmas. Contact me to see how Cay Moore Associates and/or Cay Moore Events Management could be of help to you. With best wishes for your business and personal success. Cay Owner, Cay Moore Associates www.caymoore.wordpress.com email: caymoore@hotmail.co.uk twitter: @Cay_Moore skype: cay.mooreassociates
This entry was posted in Business Solutions and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Clegg Effect – coming to a business near you?

  1. Cay says:

    Reblogged this on Cay_Moore and commented:

    So, last year I posted this very sceptical blog on the ‘unholy alliance’ between Cam and Clegg. I think, a vast multitude of you will join me in saying that we are not surprised as to how things are panning out as the results in the recent May elections showed.

    OK. let’s do the autopsy. How long has this marriage been? I have lost track, it has been such a loveless, lacklustre, boring affair that anniversay date has gone unnoticed for me. You see, this ‘coalition thing’ has been the type of marriage that no-one in the family wants but the couple decides they are going to do it anyway? You know the type I am talking about don’t you – every family has at least one of these to contend with. It’s the type of marriage where when there is a family gathering, and the said couple enters the room, all the “aunties” (and sometimes some uncles) huddle in a corner, give each other the eye, push their mouths up at the couple and snigger under their breath. And doesn’t this ‘alliance’ between Cam and Clegg falter under scrutiny!

    In contrast to the image last year or whenever it was, where they strolled out to the Gardens all smiles, to meet reporters and to announce their ‘marriage’, quite recently, the body language has been markedly different. They stand poles apart at News Conferences, they speak separately, not in unison anymore.

    However, one thing that has remained the same is Cameron’s aggressive stance and Clegg’s subdued, defeatest demeanor. But what did we expect? In my blog last year, or whenever it was, I observed the coalition as an ‘unholy alliance with the balance of power firmly tipped in favour of Cameron.

    So now, what we have are all the aunties in both camps (i.e. the people including you and me who voted in the May elections) wagging a finger, giving each other the eye, pushing up our mouths and saying loud and clear as the aunties do “we told you so!”

    So once again, don’t let your business be a victim of the Cam and Clegg effect – remind yourself of the things to consider before you partner with anyone that I set out in my blog last year or whenever it was and be careful where you lay your bed!

    This Blog Post is a ‘tongue in cheek commentary on the Coalition government. The views are my personal views and do not reflect those of Cay Moore’s Associates.

Leave a Reply

