“Oh what a tangled web we weave when first we practice to deceive!”

Spiders web

Spiders web (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Ever heard that saying before? 

 

I have pondered over the last few weeks on the saga involving Vicky Price and Chris Huhne.  I know all the furore has died down now, but I couldn’t help thinking how aptly their situation demonstrates that lying and deception are never, ever the right option.

 

Apart from knowing that Chris Huhne was a Member of Parliament, I knew nothing of Vicky Price or the scandal that seems to have surrounded them both, prior to this penalty point saga.  I do think however, that the whole affair is quite sad, especially as the entire family, will most likely be negatively affected.

 

Vicky Price alleged that she was coerced into taking her husband’s speeding points.  The trial judge was not convinced.  However, approaching this from a completely feminine perspective, we will never know what pressure Vicky Price was subjected to before she agreed to this act.

 

From all the news reports, Vicky seems to have suffered most of the criticisms, while her husband whose original actions form the root of the affair seems to have received a more sympathetic response.  Much has been made of the fact that she is highly intelligent and should have known better.  But sometimes, when it comes to affairs of the heart, intelligence counts for nothing as some women who seem tough as nails in other aspects of their lives, are often soft as putty when it comes to emotional matters.

 

This penalty points incident happened ten years ago, when regardless of the state of their relationship, they were both living as husband and wife with a family unit to maintain.  Whilst not in any way meaning to condone some of her actions, we know very well, that women will go to any ends to protect their family, no less so in the circles in which these two parties operated.  After all, the political , personal and financial stakes for both of them were very high.

 

Then we have the issue of the husband’s affair, which ultimately led to the total breakdown of the marriage and which no doubt tipped her over the edge – ‘hell hath no fury than a woman scorned’ and woe betide the man who forgets that!

 

It is very hard to comment without sounding judgmental, but I have reflected on this issue from a christian perspective ever since it first came to light, and more so in the past few weeks since the trial.  And I have asked myself the question, what would I have done differently if I were Vicky Price?  I cast my mind back to an article I wrote in March of last year about our calling here on earth in our unique position as women.  That article extolled the virtues of being a Proverb 31 woman i.e. trustworthy, resourceful, industrious, generous, with excellent domestic as well as housekeeping skills, and a ‘fear of God’.

 

And so I would like to think that if I found myself in the same or similar situation as Vicky Price at any time in my life, that the last on the list of those virtues (‘fear of God’) would enable me to make the right decision.  But then, we are all human with all the human frailties that comes with the human condition!

 

May God strengthen us women to always make the right decisions whatever the                   circumstance.

 

blog signature

 

About Cay

Dynamic, innovative, creative, multi-skilled, trustworthy, reliable, knowledgeable - these are just some of the words that you could use to describe me. I am Cay Moore, Owner of Cay Moore Associates. I am a Christian and take an active role in community issues. I am married and have three gorgeous children who together with my husband, challenge, inspire and motivate me every day! I enjoy working and sharing my experiences with people. Leveraging my many years of experience gained from working in various capacities in England and abroad, I work with businesses and individuals to bring order to chaos and solutions to dilemmas. Contact me to see how Cay Moore Associates and/or Cay Moore Events Management could be of help to you. With best wishes for your business and personal success. Cay Owner, Cay Moore Associates www.caymoore.wordpress.com email: caymoore@hotmail.co.uk twitter: @Cay_Moore skype: cay.mooreassociates
This entry was posted in Editorial and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

