The Quest for Knowledge

“Knowledge has to be improved, challenged, and increased constantly, or it vanishes”.
Peter Drucker

To be the best at what you do, your quest for knowledge should be unrelenting! I have always liked learning new things and from the time I was old enough to read I would spend hours reading anything I could get my hands on. Some things I understood first time round, others I understood better when I revisited them years later. I suppose you could call me a perpetual student!

My quest for knowledge has stood me in good stead over the years – and have allowed me to reinvent myself and or to adapt to new challenges as they come. I recall when I ventured out on my journey into self-employment I couldn’t get enough of what was then “Business Link”. I spent several hours a day trawling the web for anything that would inform my business plan.

I realised also that not everything I needed to know would be free, but that some information and or ‘know how’ came at a cost. So I set out my learning and development programme and earmarked the things that I would have to pay for immediately in order to present an authentic service to my prospective clients. I knew that in doing this, I would be investing in my future and in the sustainability of my business.

Over the years I have spent several hundred pounds on learning new skills and on my personal and professional development and I haven’t so far regretted a penny. And I will carry on spending where I need to, in order to grow and develop and be the best me.

There is also the investment in time and energy. Some of the events and training sessions that I attended involved trecking across London. I recall one such trek when I was attending Capel Manor College to undergo my 6 week floral decoration training. This involved three hours return each day on the Northern Line – longer if I had to take the bus. And… For one of those weeks it snowed all week – but I persevered because achieving that floristry qualification was part of my development plan.

So why am I telling you all this? Well, I am now in the business of offering professional services to self-employed and small business owners and I am flabbergasted at how many business owners scrimp at paying for their personal and business development. If it is not free, they are not interested.

I get requests like, “could you show me how to do that?” Or else, I get the “well it sounds really Interesting but I can’t afford it!” My services are ethically priced because I do take into account that startups in particular have challenging financial issues – after all, I was once a startup! Furthermore most of my services involve pro-bono elements and complimentary offers to carefully selected clients (under my “one good turn deserves another” policy). But I could never give away all my services for free, because that would diminish the value of my work!

My parting comment is “ignore your personal development at your peril – the saying knowledge is power is very true!”

Does anyone else out there have this problem? I would love to hear from you.

About Cay

Dynamic, innovative, creative, multi-skilled, trustworthy, reliable, knowledgeable - these are just some of the words that you could use to describe me. I am Cay Moore, Owner of Cay Moore Associates. I am a Christian and take an active role in community issues. I am married and have three gorgeous children who together with my husband, challenge, inspire and motivate me every day! I enjoy working and sharing my experiences with people. Leveraging my many years of experience gained from working in various capacities in England and abroad, I work with businesses and individuals to bring order to chaos and solutions to dilemmas. Contact me to see how Cay Moore Associates and/or Cay Moore Events Management could be of help to you. With best wishes for your business and personal success. Cay Owner, Cay Moore Associates www.caymoore.wordpress.com email: caymoore@hotmail.co.uk twitter: @Cay_Moore skype: cay.mooreassociates
This entry was posted in Editorial and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

